top of page

Midsemester Post: Reflecting, Traveling, and Tips!

Ciao!

 

It has definitely been a while since I have written on here, but I thought it was about time to update you on everything that’s been going on in Florence and my travels! We are officially halfway through the semester, which is definitely bitter-sweet. While I am sad that I will be leaving Florence relatively soon, there is also a lot of things I miss from the US! Italy is world renowned for their cuisines, but one thing I definitely am looking forward to is Mexican food! There are a few restaurants, including Tijuana’s and Il Margarita, but nothing compares to what we have back home. Additionally, while I do feel like I am mostly adjusted to Italy now, I do get homesick sometimes. That is totally normal, and everyone else is going through the same thing as you. My time here has had its ups and downs, and I want to reflect on my experience, as well as give you all advice on what I would do differently if I could do this all over.

 

It is so hard to pick my favorite thing about being abroad, but I think traveling is in the top three. My favorite trips I’ve been on so far are definitely Interlaken, Switzerland and Sorrento, Italy! While they were both different, I did so many fun activities like sledding and a chocolate making class, and a hike and boat tour of Naples! The one trip I am most looking forward to in the next month is probably Greece! I am going with my roommates to Athens and Santorini, and I am so excited to visit, relax, and try all the Greek food. Greece has been a bucket list trip for me for so long and I am super grateful I will get to experience it! An honorable mention is also Croatia, which was super beautiful, and I got to zip-line! While I was initially very terrified to do this, my friends were very encouraging and convinced me not to walk back down the mountain. It ended up being a really amazing experience and I am so glad I got to do it!



In addition to traveling, I have really enjoyed getting to explore Florence and learn more about the culture here. In my food and culture class, I have been able to cook many traditional Tuscan recipes, like Carabaccia, which is an onion soup, and today we made bean and tomato soup! One really cool thing about the class is I would never cook it on my own or think to order it in a restaurant, but I get to discover new foods I never knew I liked! Florence is also starting to get warmer and sunnier, so I have really loved walking around the city and finding pretty places to sit and enjoy the weather. So far, I have sat on the wall bordering the Arno river, and really want to go to the Boboli gardens soon!



I don’t think there is that much that I would change about my experience, but I do have some tips for if you are studying abroad soon! My first piece of advice that I am so glad I did was book trips before I came to Florence. While I was glad I had some weekends open to discover new places with my new friends, prices do go up the longer you wait. I had four trips booked before I got to Italy, and that was definitely a money saver. However, definitely do your research and figure out which is the cheapest airport to fly out of, since it is relatively easy to get to Rome, Pisa, Milan, or Bologna by train. Skyscanner is a great website that tells you what the cheapest place to fly out of is! My second piece of advice would be to explore your host country a lot! You will definitely spend time exploring your host city, but there are so many cool towns just in Italy that I wish I would have left time to see! Finally, you should know that whatever feelings you have about being away from your home are normal. I feel like I am just now fully adjusted to Italy, and it’s more than halfway through the semester. Most people are not used to uprooting their entire life and moving to another country for four months. It can be difficult to enjoy being abroad if you are feeling homesick or out of place, but I guarantee many of your friends are feeling exactly the same. Try to embrace the experience and you will be adjusted to your new home in no time!


 


I have really enjoyed my time in Florence and cannot wait for my last month here. Although I am definitely sad that I don’t have very much time left before I go back to the US, I know my experience here will be unforgettable. If you ever have the opportunity to study abroad, take it because it will be the best time of your life!

 

Ciao!

 

Olivia

bottom of page