top of page

Meeting the Mermaids - One Week In

I honestly meant to write a post before leaving about what I was packing for my year abroad, but I was too busy doing the packing to write about it. I can't believe I left only a week ago because so much has happened in that time. I finished packing the morning I left (the 21st of September) and had lunch with my family before going to the airport in Columbia and flying out at 4:19. It didn't hit me that I was actually leaving until the plane's wheels lifted off the runway because the date always seemed so far away. I did begin feeling sad about leaving while sitting in CAE, but I promised myself that I wouldn't be sad about leaving until after I'd left. After one short flight to Charlotte and one very long flight to London Heathrow, I met up with the University of Warwick people and took a 1.5 hour bus ride to my accommodation. The total traveling time for me was 16 hours, and by the end I was quite exhausted so I didn't do anything for the rest of the day except sleep.

I didn't exactly pack light (one carry-on, a backpack, and two checked bags), so I don't think I'm the best source for a packing list, but I will include items I found useful and definitely would pack again. I brought a box of granola bars to eat when food was not available, and that was a good investment because I wasn't able to buy a real meal until ~30 hours after my last meal (mainly because I fell asleep at 1 pm as soon as I arrived and woke up when all shops were closed). Keep in mind that you won't have anything to cook with, or even eat with, when you arrive so you're at the mercy of business hours. Those granola bars kept me going until I found a mediocre but filling sandwich. I also brought a set of sheets, comforter, and pillow. Those are not at all necessary when packing, but they meant I could go to sleep immediately. I felt all the gratitude in the world when my head hit that pillow. I also brought two towels, a washcloth, and 3 oz bottles of soap, shampoo, and conditioner so I could take a shower without having to go and buy those items. They meant I could take a shower as soon as I woke up and could worry about finding food without feeling disgusting. I also recommend bringing flip flops for walking around after your shower before putting on real shoes, I didn't remember them and wish I had, but luckily a pair is on my way through the mail. Keep in mind that there are thousands of other students moving to campus during the same four day window as you, so towels and other home goods like sheets, pillows, and blankets may be sold out when you try to buy them. I also had international phone service turned on for a few days so I would have access to data and calling for the first few days I was in England (I use AT&T so it was ten dollars a day. You do have to turn roaming on for it to be useful, so keep that in mind). It was good to have access to my family during that time without having to worry about inserting my UK SIM card immediately because it can be hard to do and requires a bit of time that you don't have when you're stressing about finding your first meal in over a day. My American number has been ported while I'm abroad so it won't get reissued to someone else. The final useful item is an umbrella, I definitely recommend bringing one to England. Florence Welch was fairly accurate when she sang "England is only ever grey or green." It rains quite often and the weather changes by the hour.

On that note, she was also accurate about the girls too. I have been surprised by how resistant they are to the cold, especially late at night when returning from the nightclub on campus. This past week the weather has hovered in the mid to low 60s, weather I consider cold because I'm used to the 80s in September. Not them. This is almost balmy. I will say that walking keeps you warm so it's quite comfortable. Everyone keeps the windows open almost constantly, and I would have thought that would make it cold inside, but it's somehow always pleasantly warm, if not hot. I guess temperature just works differently here.

Before arriving, I thought English people as a whole were more antisocial and sarcastic than Americans. I also thought their food was bland. I haven't actually had any British food yet so I can't tell you if that't correct or not, but the people are way more welcoming than I ever expected. Everyone I've talked to has been very kind and outgoing, and they make a real effort to get to know you. In just a week I've made so many friends and I really like all of my flatmates. I feel like I'm getting a freshman year do-over, and I love it. Maybe if I went up to a random guy on his way to work he wouldn't want to talk, but everyone on campus is always looking to make your acquaintance during Freshers Week. Another thing I wasn't really expecting is how diverse England actually is, especially in the little bubble of Warwick's campus. Like I've been telling the Brits over here, America isn't just gun slinging middle aged white men. England has a lot more to offer than old white Tories wearing bowler hats.

It's been a wonderful first week and I already feel very at-home here. I have been so busy that I haven't had enough time to feel homesick, but I know I'll start to miss home in a few weeks once my classes start and life becomes routine. Until then, I'll keep having fun experiencing England (and Scotland, but that's for next time).

Small note: I wrote this two weeks ago but only just had time to edit and post it now.

bottom of page