top of page

The Winter Season in Nagasaki

As the chill embrace of winter settles over Japan, there's a certain charm that graces the historic city of Nagasaki. While foreign holidays such as Thanksgiving, which is an American staple, aren't really celebrated or acknowledged outside of international associations or schools with a strong focus on cultural exchange, such as Nagasaki Gaidai (NUFS), Christmas seems to have a rather strong foothold in Japan. Also, one of the things that really surprised me is the amount of decorating the city seems to do for the Christmas season, such as stringing lights around trees and buildings. It really reminded me of home, and it was honestly the first time I felt a little homesick since my study abroad term started.

Downtown Nagasaki - Shopping Area Entrance



Although Nagasaki prefecture is relatively small when compared to heavily populated prefectures such as Tokyo, Osaka, or Kanagawa, it still manages to provide a unique experience that I don't think I'd be able to find in other areas of Japan. I was told repeatedly that Japanese people are intensely shy, but I haven't found that to be the case for a large percentage of Japanese people I've been around during my time here. Although I'm unsure if this strictly applies to only the Nagasaki region or the Kyushu island at large, my experiences here have definitely given me a new outlook on Japanese society and culture that I honestly don't believe I would have gained from simply learning about Japan from second-hand sources.

Nagasaki Bay Decorations



Even if Nagasaki isn't blanketed in snow like some northern regions of Japan, such as the cities and towns in Hokkaido, its unique blend of history, culture, and contemporary celebrations make it an experience unlike any I've personally had before during the winter season. Also, as touched on a little beforehand, the city's warm and welcoming atmosphere, combined with the lights and festivities, creates something that captures the spirit of the season in a way I wouldn't have expected from a nation that doesn't have the same history with Christmas as the Western world does. On a final note, if you plan to visit or study abroad during the Fall semester, I would highly recommend visiting the shopping district, Nagasaki Bay, or finding a cultural exchange association or group, especially if you're just vacationing, in order to truly experience not just the bright decorations, but also to interact with the people during this unique season.

bottom of page